RSS

“That’s Marriage”: Gone Girl and Relationships

17 Feb

image

So, Gone Girl, huh? Pretty intense film.

I’ve wanted to watch it for some time now. In fact, I organized a trip with my friends to go see it when it was freshly out in cinemas. Unfortunately, another engagement came up, and I had to drop out.

My friends saw it anyway, and continually told me how great it was. Thanks guys. Anyway, SPOILERS to follow.

Anyway, some months later, I’m into my ‘2014 Film Catch-Up’ sesh, and todays film was Gone Girl. I’ve watched some pretty good films recently, but Gone Girl was definitely one of the best. I’m not sure if I prefer it to The Imitation Game or not, but they’re definitely close. Where The Imitation Game was moving and heartfelt, Gone Girl was tense and exciting.

Despite the fact that I’ve heard some claims that Rosamund Pike fell a little short as the titular Gone Girl, I think she and Affleck gave stellar performances. His inner darkness and desperation make me confident he’s going to be the perfect Batman, whilst her cunning and mystery was consistently enticing. When she sharply responds “That’s marriage” to his queries of how they can go on, my heart skipped a beat. Her acting was sharp and menacing, and she made the perfect antagonist to Affleck’s flawed hero. Her deception is such that for the first half of the film, it is honestly believable that he is the murderer.

Which, I suppose, also says something about the direction of the film. Fincher does a fantastic job in coordinating this piece. The camerawork and transitions between shots is excellent, and the tone never misses a mark. The cast has been chosen superbly; my only concern was perhaps Neil Patrick Harris, who I love, but at times just seemed a bit off. However, as the film progressed, that seemed more in line with the film, as he he became a suitable foil for Pike’s character. Even the brief appearance by Scoot McNairy was a powerful and moving scene, drawing sympathy and highlighting Pike’s performance to even greater levels.

But perhaps the best part of the film beyond Pike’s villainous persona was Affleck’s troubled anti-hero. When it is revealed he is having an affair with a younger character, the audience becomes disgusted, yet more drawn in than ever. I was no longer sure I knew what the outcome would be, or even what I wanted it to be, but I was invested to such an extent that I didn’t care. I just wanted to see what happened.

In my screenwriting class, we’ve been taught that character is key, and even if a character isn’t likeable, he must be someone you can understand and empathise with. The characters of Gone Girl are a perfect example of that, and is definitely one to rewatch as I move towards my assessments at the end of the term.

I think this film especially interested me because earlier today I also watched the film Adaptations in class. Adaptations also interested me, as the Nicholas Cage character of Charlie Kaufman reminded me of many of the insecurities I used to have about myself. Not that I’m fat or balding or anything, but more the missed chances I always used to think about with girls.

The problems of a teenager, eh?

And now the problems are more the ones I like turn out not to be how I thought they were, and the girls who show interest in me never seem to be what I’m looking for. Figure I’m just fussy. But at least I’m not with a girl whose liable to frame me for rape, blackmail me or slit my throat. God, Gone Girl was pretty dark.

But that’s just the thing, when it comes to these sorts of relationships, I’m awful at reading the signs unless it’s fairly obvious, or I’m drunk. Which is a fine line to dance in itself.

Take for instance this situation, wherein as I am writing this, I’ve just got a Tinder message. If you’re a keen follower of my blog (which let’s be honest, is probably a reference to no-one other than my mother; oh, depression) then you might remember I typed out a similar sentence some weeks ago.

It’s the same girl, which would indicate that she’s interested, but if you were to read our conversation, it’s pretty much devoid of any significant chemistry. It’s like we’re both just letting the conversation limp on because neither of us want to be mean and drop the other. It’s ridiculous. Or it’s a classic case of me being and oblivious idiot. But honestly, I feel like this one I’m not too far off the mark.

Urgh, girls eh? What’re you going to do.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2015 in Film & TV, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
