RSS

Film Score

27 Oct

About a fortnight ago, I was really in the swing of things. Post’s every couple of days, visitors steadily climbing.

Dog reading paper

I figured that perhaps I was getting into the right mindset. I finally plucked up the courage to apply for the student paper; asking if I could write some film reviews, of which the Ripple seemed to lack.

The culture editor got back to me in no time and asked to see some samples of work, so of course, I directed him to my biggest source: here.

Now I wasn’t sure that was the best idea, but I figured if I gave him a heads up to my reviews of Godzilla, Guardians of the Galaxy and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (sort of), then perhaps he would see some potential, and try me out.

I’m not really sure how long ago that was. But I’ve yet to hear anything. My friend Nick tells me that the culture editor is a busy man, and I understand that. But I can’t shake the feeling that my reviews aren’t very good (and that some of my last posts were long drawn out rambles about comic book movies, which I’m doubting people want to read about). I mean, each of them got a significant amount of views for the site, but the fact of the matter is that I really do need much more practice.

But with absolutely no money and not many films that I’d like to pay what I don’t have to see out at this moment, I figure the best thing to do is to look to my back catalogue of DVDs. The other day I found and bought Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Moon and The Ghost Writer for a fiver. So I guess I’ll start on those.

Unfortunately, the saddest part of this story is that I would have a new review for you in the form of Gone Girl. Me and Nick set up a little outing to go see it, but I was forced to pull out due to my duties to a help-line I volunteer for. But on the upside, I just helped train a load of new volunteers, so I can put ‘teaching experience’ on my C.V., if not ‘contributing writer’.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2014 in Film & TV, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
