RSS

Oh, well, ‘F you’ iTunes: Capaldi’s Overpriced Doctor Who

11 Oct

Series_8_promo_postcard

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’m a pretty big fan of Doctor Who.

It’s safe to say it’s my favourite show; I’ve loved it since its conception (or at least, since I was shown its conception); the only reason I cant lay claim to being a die-hard Whovian as of yet is because I’ve not yet watched any Colin Baker Who.

But that notwithstanding, I am very much a die-hard Whovian.

As such, I’ve spent the last few years collecting every Doctor Who episode via iTunes. And by every episode, I unfortunately mean modern Who, because iTunes hasn’t got the whole library of classic Who at it’s disposal.

No one does, in fact, because in the sixties and seventies, the BBC thought it would be a good idea to delete half of Patrick Troughton’s episodes to save space.

Good work guys.

But that’s not what this is about.

What this is about, is my ongoing quest to collect every Who episode. But not in a boring way, like, *nerdy nasal voice* Oh, I love Doctor Who, it’s an outstanding and somewhat ground-breaking piece of television; I particularly like Pyramids of Mars for Tom Baker’s thoroughly riveting portrayal of the Doctor, and the rather innovative story-line! *nerdy voice ends* (because I’ve never actually watched Pyramids of Mars, despite my previous claim of being a die-hard Whovian) I do have a more sincere point.

Unfortunately, I realise now that I am beating around the bush slightly.

My basic point is that the last few series of Doctor Who rose from £9.99 to £14.99. This price was pushing the boundaries ever so slightly, but was still somewhat acceptable.

Around this same time, series one and two of modern Who rose to the ridiculous price of £20.99. Christopher Eccleston was a fine Doctor, but watching his series now, it’s very much clear that Doctor Who was in it’s early days.

The stories were fine. The visual effects were not.

So when I logged on to perhaps buy a season pass for season eight, and saw that it is now £24.99, I felt like someone was pulling my leg.

Sure, Peter Capaldi’s a good Doctor, like Christopher Eccleston, but that doesn’t mean the show is still at the same standard as it was when, say, David Tennant was the Doctor.

Frankly, there have only been one or two episodes this season when I’ve watched the show and thought “Huh, that was a pretty good episode”, because frankly, so far, season eight has been a bit shit.
(Stephen Moffat, I’m looking at you, but that’s another post for another time).

Bar Capaldi, of course; his portrayal of the Doctor has been sublime.

So when I see a ‘£24.99’ price tag on the season eight series pass (that’s Standard Definition), I only have one thing to say:

Fuck off, Apple, and stop being such a C–t…

C@#t…

Doesn’t look right…

But frankly, I’d rather not type that word on my blog. I feel like despite the fact that my house-mates influence my vocabulary ever so slightly, I still have a measure of restraint.
Hopefully.

But you know what I’m trying to say.

£24.99 for a currently mediocre series is outlandish. I don’t think I’ve ever used the term ‘daylight robbery’ more accurately, but that is what this is.

The sad thing is that I’m that much of a nerd that I won’t be happy until my collection is complete, so I’ll have to pay it at some point.

But I won’t be happy about it.

So fuck off, Apple. Fuck off.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2014 in Film & TV

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
