RSS

The Dude’s Prayer

09 Oct

dude-abies-e1362597444973

There are times *cough*yesterday*cough* when I tend to be “very un-Dude”.

By that, I mean I stress out; I worry; I complain.

Everyone does; I’m allowed.

Half of the time this happens, I roll with it. I don’t get worked up. Everything works itself out.

The other half *cough*yesterday*cough* I don’t roll with it. I get worked up. And everything works itself out anyway.

As detailed in my previous post, I got drunker than I would have liked, spent more money would have liked, and woke up yesterday regretting it more than I would have liked.

I struggled on. I went rock-climbing. I had a great time.

Today, I got informed that despite past e-mails, I would still be able to take my chosen Screen-writing module, and my course was realigned with its optimum route. Then I had a class in which I watched Breaking Bad. It was “far out man. Far fuckin’ out.”

And then, as if to round out this rather Dude-ly day, the Dudeism page posted first a link for Ordained Priest I.D. cards , followed by a video of the Dudely Lama performing the Dude’s Prayer five years back at Lebowski-fest.

So here it is; the perfect way to round out my rather chill day.

“Our Dude, who art in Los Angeles,
Hallowed be thy handle.
Thy rug will come,
Thy chill be done,
All over Earth, as it is in your bungalow.

Give us this our daily caucasian,
And forgive us our stresspasses,
As we forgive those who stresspass against us,
And lead us not into Simi Valley,
But deliver us from real reactionaries and human paraquat.
For thine is the lane, the ball, and the what-have-you,
Down through the ages, across the sands of time,
Lodged against the abutment.

Fuckin’-A, man.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2014 in Film & TV, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Dude’s Prayer

  1. Vanessa

    February 8, 2017 at 1:52 am

    Fuckin’-A, Man.

     
    • Emrys M.

      February 8, 2017 at 4:25 am

      The Dude abides in this comment.

       

Leave a Reply

 
